Primary School Awards System

Class and Principal's Awards

In an effort to increase the value of awards, the School has a system that is designed to give value to accumulated awards above a Principal’s Award. Awards will be accumulated from one year to the next and will count towards higher level awards.

Award Progression

Each year students can be given Class Awards from their class teacher or a specialist teacher. When students have collected five Class Awards they will need to take them to the Primary School Assistant or the Head of Primary which will allow them to be eligible for a Principal's Award. These awards then advance to a Bronze, Silver and Gold Badge and culminate in a Principal's Medallion for exceptional students who have received 12 Principal's Awards during their time in Primary School.

The following list highlights the progression of awards in Primary School:

  • 5 Class Awards = 1 Principal’s Award.
  • 5 Principal’s Awards = 1 Bronze Badge
  • 7 Principal’s Awards = 1 Silver Badge
  • 9 Principal’s Awards = 1 Gold Badge
  • 12 Principal’s Awards = 1 Principal's Medallion

Our Principal's Awards, as well as our bronze, silver and gold badges, will be awarded at the relevant Stage Assembly.

Principal’s Medallions are awarded at the Primary School Awards Ceremony at the end of the school year for Year 6 students.

Secondary School Awards System

The Awards System in place for Years 7 to 10 acknowledges achievement in a variety of contexts, with the dimensions of effort, improvement and involvement being valued equally with outright academic achievement. Recognition can be in the form of Class Awards and Principal's Awards. An Honour Roll system is used for Years 7 to 10, with recognition given with Class Awards and Principal's Awards.

  • 5 Honour Roll Nominations = Class Award
  • 5 Class Awards = Principal's Award

In Year 11 and 12 the system is similar, with recognition in the form of Badges.

  • 5 Honour Roll Nominations = A Badge - Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum - from multiple teachers over various disciplines.